Glossary of Taiwan

Taiwan »

[Date: 2015年11月12日]

Taiwan (Listeni/ˌtaɪˈwɑːn/; Chinese: 臺灣 or 台灣; pinyin: Táiwān; see below), officially the Republic of China (ROC; Chinese: 中華民國; pinyin: Zhōnghuá Mínguó), is a sovereign state in East Asia. The Republic of China, originally based in mainland China, now governs the island of Taiwan, which constitutes more than 99% of its territory,[e] as well as Penghu, Kinmen, Matsu, and other minor islands, following its loss of the mainland China territory in 1949 in the Chinese Civil War. This remaining area is also constitutionally called the “Free Area of the Republic of China” which is free from Communist rule.

Neighboring states include the People’s Republic of China (PRC) to the west (mainland China), Japan to the east and northeast, and the Philippines to the south. Taiwan is one of the most densely populated countries in the world with a population density of 648 people per km2 in July 2015.[6] Taipei is the seat of the central government,[2] and together with the surrounding cities of New Taipei and Keelung forms the largest metropolitan area on the island.